***Click here to download video. Click here for audio.***


WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Kevin Cramer (R-ND) joined Senator Cynthia Lummis (R-WY) in introducing Protecting our Wealth of Energy Resources

(POWER) Act of 2021, legislation to prohibit the president or his secretaries of the Interior, Agriculture, and Energy departments from blocking energy or mineral leasing and permitting on federal lands and waters without Congressional approval. 


“President Biden banning energy development on federal lands would increase the deficit, hurt state and tribal budgets, and make the United States more reliant on foreign producers like Saudi Arabia,” said Senator Cramer. “Our bill takes such a destructive option off the table, supports schools and workers, and protects America’s energy security.” 


President Biden’s Executive Orders include directing the Interior Department to halt new oil and natural gas leases on federal lands and to begin reviewing existing fossil fuel leases and permitting practices. It also orders federal agencies to look at eliminating fossil fuel subsidies. Senator Cramer issued a statement earlier this week denouncing these Executive Orders.  


Senators Cramer and Lummis are joined on the bill by John Barrasso (R-WY), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), John Boozman (R-AR), Shelley

Moore Capito (R-WV), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Tom Cotton (R-AR), John Cornyn (R-TX), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Steve Daines (R-MT), John Hoeven (R-ND), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Jim Inhofe (R-OK), Ron Johnson (R-WI), John Kennedy (R-LA), Mike Lee (R-UT), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Pat Toomey (R-PA), Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), James Risch (R-ID), Mitt Romney (R-UT), and Roger Wicker (R-MS). Representatives Yvette Herrell (R-NM), Kevin McCarthy (R-CA), Steve Scalise (R-LA), and Bruce Westerman (R-AR) introduced the companion bill in the House of Representatives.